Ruby: The Story of Ruby Bridges

February 14- March 1, 2020
Single TicketsLearn More

Ruby: The Story of Ruby Bridges

By Christina M. Ham  Music by Gary Rue
February 14- March 1, 2020

Ruby Bridges was only 6 years old when the Civil Rights movement came hammering at her door, making her the first black child to attend an all-white elementary school in New Orleans. On the heels of Brown v. Board of Education, schools were ordered to integrate with “all deliberate speed,” and in 1960, Ruby became one of six black children to integrate all-white schools in the city. Ruby’s integration placed undue pressure on her family—almost tearing them apart—as they watched helplessly while federal marshals escorted young Ruby to school. With songs inspired by The Shirelles, Sam Cooke and Smokey Robinson, this musical explores a little girl’s unbeatable courage in the face of adversity as she helped to lead the Civil Rights movement up the front steps and into the classrooms of an elementary school in New Orleans.

Recommended for 3rd grade & up

Ticket Prices:

$15 for adults
$12 for children/seniors
$10 for weekend groups (10+)
$7 for weekday groups (10+)

TEACHER SPECIAL! Reserve by June 30th for $6 tickets!

SHOW DATES & TIMES

Friday, February 14 – 10:00am & 12:30pm
Saturday, February 15 – 7:30pm
Sunday, February 16 – 2:00pm
Wednesday, February 19 – 10:00am & 12:30pm
Thursday, February 20 – 10:00am & 12:30pm
Friday, February 21 – 10:00am & 12:30pm
Saturday, February 22 – 7:30pm
Sunday, February 23 – 2:00pm
Thursday, February 27 – 10:00am & 12:30pm
Friday, February 28 – 10:00am, 12:30pm & 7:30pm
Saturday, February 29 – 7:30pm
Sunday, March 1 – 2:00pm

Audition – November 18

Performance Location

The Conn Theatre
1900 Nicollet Ave
Minneapolis, MN

Support YPC


Youth Performance Company is an encouraging space for children to develop and discover their unique gifts and talents. Click the above link, to make a secure donation to YPC.

Join our mailing list

Sign up